Thoughts on the Impact of Mission: Alice speaks to Cheshire Cat

The Cat only grinned when it saw Alice. It looked good-natured, she thought: still it had very long claws and a great many teeth, so she felt that it ought to be treated with respect.

`Cheshire Puss,’ she began, rather timidly, as she did not at all know whether it would like the name: however, it only grinned a little wider. `Come, it’s pleased so far,’ thought Alice, and she went on. `Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?’

`That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,’ said the Cat.

`I don’t much care where–‘ said Alice.

`Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,’ said the Cat.

`–so long as I get somewhere,’ Alice added as an explanation.

`Oh, you’re sure to do that,’ said the Cat, `if you only walk long enough.’

Professor Reimers brought this up as he was lecturing on mission.  [Boy, I could listen to him talk forever, he’s such a good speaker!]  Anyway, it made me think.  I’m still thinking.

I mean, I thought I would know where I would want to be by March, but March is coming up in nine days.  I guess I’m at a point where if I go for Plan A, it almost feels like I’m really propelling my way down one track.  Whereas if I go for Plan B, then I may be choosing a “safer route” but may lose sight of the whole reason for why I came to HGSE in the first place.

“Follow your passions.”  This could appear naive, but  I think … it’s very possible.  Just scary.  Should I make the plunge down the rabbit hole?

3 responses to “Thoughts on the Impact of Mission: Alice speaks to Cheshire Cat

  1. if there’s a rabbit hole, my philosophy is, always go down. Always.

    but maybe don’t pay attention to me because that may be why I’m in the UK and I don’t know what I’m doing here— studying random and useless stuff.

Leave a Reply

