Cripes, I missed an easy scholarship deadline.

I really hate it when I pull a hare and end up losing my race.  For example, I was pretty gungho and on top of funding my education and finding scholarships in January and February.  By March, I had all my rec letters ready and my transcripts sent.  Then slowly but surely, I let myself relax.  I was sick of writing essays about myself and reasoned that I deserved a break.  Sure, a break is fine, but… NOT WHEN YOU OVERSLEEP!

I figuratively overslept and missed out on a scholarship that I think I had a really good chance of getting.  Not to mention, I wasted $50 since I had to send 2 sets of transcripts.  I guess this is supposed to make me all the more motivated to apply for the other few I have my eyes on, but honestly, I just want to give up and go home.  I’ll just … take out more loans.  (Lazy, lazy, lazy. Bad, Junia, No!)

In other news, private schools do take care of you, and I actually feel a glimmer of hope that after grad school, I’ll actually be able to snag a job!  Lately, people have been coming up to me and commenting cute nonsensicals such as “now that you’re going to Harvard, your comments seem more legit” to “You must be a genius.”  Honestly, I think getting into graduate school is a lot easier that getting into an undergraduate program.  And if I were really that amazing, I’d already have a job, and I wouldn’t have to grad school and learn more job-attracting skills now, would I?

I’m just grumpy that I missed out on a few thousand dollars.  Boo hoo.

Lesson Learned:  Slow and steady might not necessarily always win the race, but fast and flaky definitely will make you lose. 

2 responses to “Cripes, I missed an easy scholarship deadline.

  1. you’ve always sounded smart. 🙂

    good luck on scholarship apps!!

  2. “In other news, private schools do take care of you” – Yes this is true! (as I’m realizing at MIT) Are you exploring the resources at Harvard available to you? Sometimes you’d be surprised at how someone can help.

    “And if I were really that amazing, I’d already have a job” – who says amazing people wouldn’t decide to go to grad school anyway? 🙂

Leave a Reply

