Social Justice, Entrepreneurship, and Fashion?

A small hobby I picked up last year was perusing fashion blogs.  (Having just come back from Asia with its quirky fashion choices and being a big fan of Tim Gunn, it was only a matter of time.)  I don’t read them much but today, through one of the blogs, I found out about Radiant Cosmetics.

It’s a cosmetics line started by a girl named Nicole who loves fashion and makeup.  She was working in New York  City at a fashion house, but realized that such dreams in themselves were empty.  You can read more about her on the Radiant Cosmetics website.   My main point of bringing this up is because of this little caveat: 20% of the profits from this for profit company goes to Free the Captives, an anti-human trafficking organization.

Granted, I don’t know much about how this is done or what the quality of the organization is.  However, what excites me is the simplicity in that this girl took her interests and mixed it with something greater to start a company that plays to her strengths and has utility.  Raising awareness and money in itself isn’t going to change things in the short run.  But it is much better than living life as if things are going well.

Finally, on a personal note, I guess examples like this reminds me that it’s not hard to start something!  I keep on coming back to this point.  Relatively, it’s not easy either.  However, it’s not impossible.  In fact, it’s very possible.  I’m not just spouting tautologies, I just want you to know that starting something and doing it well is not impossible. (Okay fine, maybe I am.)

[But also, it’s not like I’m “saving the world one student at a time” as one classmate put it.  In all of this “do-good”-ing, it’s always good to be aware that in the end, these are but temporary fixes to the more pervasive issue, which is sin.  “As for me, [the only reason I’m not desperately hopeless is because] I know that my Redeemer lives, And at the last He will take His stand on the earth” (Job 19:25, NASB).]

Leave a Reply

