Owl, I did you so wrong today.

There’s a girl in my class.  She came in today after being absent yesterday.  She said family stuff happened yesterday and she didn’t want to talk about it.

At this point, I could have understandingly said, “Aw, Owl, what’s wrong!  Oh, it’s okay if you don’t want to talk about it.  But let me know if you do, I’m here.”  And I could have waited because knowing Owl, she always says she doesn’t want to talk about something but then she then starts chatting and chatting.  I know I could have shared some of her burden.

Instead, I just politely said, “Okay, whatever you need, Owl,” and went back to my work.  

And throughout the day, i just felt so irritated by her.  She just.. doesn’t get anything, and every time she misses a day, she falls farther and farther behind.

And now, I’m thoroughly ashamed.  I mean, it’s both overwhelming, but also awful, because it really isn’t her fault she is so behind.  The sad thing is, tomorrow is a new day and I’m sure she and I will be better.  I will ask her for her forgiveness and she will probably forgive me, because she’s sort of a puppy in that way.  She’ll always come back.

But I need to stop wounding my kids!  Even if on the outside, I’m doing nothing wrong, I know there are ways I could have been a support, but chose not to.

Leave a Reply

