They will disappoint you.

But love them anyway.

Love them anyway?

Why?

I’m so sick of it.

The noncommittal shrugs.

The mumbled, “I don’t know’s” 

The smirks.

The avoided eye contact.

Okay fine.

suppose it’s because they’re having a hard time.

With school.

With home.

With summer break just around the corner.

But why–just because I have this title–am I expected to be so selfless and ever-patient?

Why, Mr. Middle-Class Taxpayer, do you get to criticize me when I lose my temper and confess?

Why do I have to deal with condescending nods, outbursts of anger, ill-concealed whispers, attitude up the whazoo.

Why do I have to love them?

What have they done to earn any of it?

.

.

.

.

.

.

And this is probably why I have such difficulties working in an environment where “everything is earned.”  

Partly because for those who have not “earned” much, grow so disheartened that by the end of the year, they’ve given up.

Partly because I refuse to be someone that dangles bait — it cheapens the motivation.

Yet mostly because everything is not earned.  

This time, I’m not talking about the social construct (although that could apply too).

I love because He first loved me.

And the Gospel is where I’m laid bare and broken.

Because this is just super hard.  

It’s really hard to love.

Leave a Reply

