2015 Resolutions

I’ve never been one for resolutions, much less, New Year’s Resolutions… but last year, I tried.

To be honest, I forgot #s 1 and 3 and focused mainly on #2.

I think, I’d want to keep last year’s resolutions and roll them over onto this year’s.

I remember the darkness of 2013.  Most years, I write a quick year-end update to email my friends.  I remember at the end of 2013, I just couldn’t.

2014 was much better. I think that summer in Taiwan, where God reminded me that His plans are so much higher than my own sort of kickstarted the recollections of what it means to be a child of God (These things I call to mind and THEREFORE I have hope).

This year, I spent my winter break hiking in the mountains of Peru.  Everyday, God’s blaring glory challenged, overwhelmed, and swept me.  Everyday, to be faced with the intricacies below my feet, above my head, at a part of the earth where I am gasping for breath and am reminded of my finiteness, was.. healing.

Resolutions?

1) Seek God and His will – not by looking inwards, but looking to scripture. (A tweak of last year’s #1).  This is how one attains wisdom.

2) Again, guard my heart, so that I can guard my mind and words.

3) Practice forgiveness.  *sigh* .  And this part is the hardest.

And maybe adding 4)  Forget the memories that need to be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

