This world makes me sad.

I was re-reading the “about” section of this blog.  I remember I first created “In Uffish Thought” to remind myself to always be thinking, to love literature, and to think beyond the box.  I wanted this to be a catalyzing blog – where I’d throw in ideas and wonder if other people were already on their way.

Then I started teaching, and there was less literature and current events and ideas, and more just day to day.

The world is pretty interesting right now – 2015.  We have social media and because of that, I’m flooded with material.  I love the browsing, the funny bits, the talent — our human race is so gifted.  But then, because of all the material, it can be easy to lose sight of what else exists.  Unlike when I was in middle/high school, there’s no newspaper to point you in the direction of “importance.”

There’s so much in this world that is just so bad.

And I don’t know what I can do about it.  It’s here where I question the power of prayer or even the goodness of God.  My heart speaks to me of truth, yet my senses seem to cry out no.  This is when I speak to my soul.

I have remembered Your ordinances from of old, O LordAnd comfort myself. Burning indignation has seized me because of the wicked, Who forsake Your law.  Your statutes are my songs In the house of my pilgrimage.  O Lord, I remember Your name in the night, And keep Your law.

Leave a Reply

