Closing the Loop

At one of my schools, teachers need to fill out an “End of Year” form so that their future teachers can get a quick snapshot of the varying degrees of needs in the classrooms.

As I began filling out information for the 6th and 7th graders, and then reading last year’s notes, I just got all teary, because it feels like that scene in the movies where the little boy has to give away his dog, so he writes this letter about the things his dog likes and then asks the future owner to take good care of this dog… and there’s an idyllic country tune playing in the background and the boy noisily wipes his running nose and eyes.

YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN????

It’s hard to leave for something else.  I had the first part of 6th grade conferences today and it felt so premature for me to leave while letting them know that my co-teacher was staying.  I know I’ll feel differently later, but for now, I’m just feeling a little sad.  Also, there’s these LITTLE notes I want to give. Like, not ONLY should Jane not sit with Joe but Joe does really well with Bob on these occasions but not those.  Also, texting works better for Susie’s mom while for Curly, make sure you start contact and conversation early.

But then, it’s like, once you give away your dog, you’re not the owner anymore. The new owner might graciously ask you a few questions but once she changes his name from Fido to Fluffy, you don’t really have a say.  In 2 days, I will no longer have a say.

 

 

Leave a Reply

