Turning Over a New Leaf

It is November 17, 2016. And tomorrow, on Friday, November 18,2016, I’ll be walking into a neighboring district’s HR office and signing the paperwork to be a teacher for a 4/5th grade combo classroom.

It’s interesting.  I feel positive about starting at this new place because the adults seem great and the kids are sweet and diverse.  I’ll also get to teach all the subjects (except science, which is my weakest area anyway), and I’ll get to really have some autonomy since I’ll be in my own self-contained room.  Lastly, the school itself is just lovely. It’s been the smallest school in Berkeley for the past 100 years and it smells woodsy and fresh.

I think the difficulties of the job (combination, coming in mid-year, first time in elementary) actually will provide me ways to really test my theories regarding classroom management, organization, and ultimately, pedagogy.

Things I’m excited to return to:

  • Kohlberg’s Levels of Moral Development
  • Social Studies
  • single-classroom culture
  • developing classroom ownership
  • reflective conflict-resolution

Things I’m excited to expand on:

  • thoughtful blended learning roll out in math
  • Growth Mindset

Things that are new, but I’m excited for…

  • Morning Meetings (a la Responsive Classroom)
  • Guided Reading / Reader’s Workshops
  • Calkins-esque Writer’s Workshops
  • having LESS instructional time and MORE enrichment

 

It has been a strange school year. I’ve taught straight, from 2012-2016 without taking summer breaks.  Then, this past year, I took my first summer break (which was AMAZING — new teachers should try it!  I think I found the key to sustainability!).  And yet, instead of moving, I ended up staying.

It was definitely a drift-y period, and even now, I need to remind myself not just the generic “God is in control”, but speak to my soul: Yes, my God is sovereign. Yes, He knows my desires. Yes, He knows every minute detail of my heart. Yes, there are ways I can glorify Him and ways that can throw all this in His face.  At the end of the day, even though I have been whining, I don’t want to get into a habit of complaint.  After all, this was in His timing, and how can I know all the workings of an infinite mind?

Leave a Reply

